Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Balancing Your Chakras and Hormones

June 26, 2020

Chakra is a Sanskrit word for “”Wheel” or “Vortex” as that is what it looks like - a ball of energy interpenetrating the physical body. Like Auras, they are non-physical aspects of consciousness.

Chakras interact with the physical body through two major systems - the Endocrine System and the Nervous System. Each of the seven main chakras mentioned here are associated with one of the endocrine glands as well as particular groups of Plexus nerves. In this way, each chakra is connected with particular body parts and functions within the body.

The chakras are linked with hormone-producing glands secreting into the bloodstream from each organ to stimulate or inhibit physical processes. By regulating hormone levels, the endocrine system works to maintain the body’s optimal state of health.

The key is to balance our chakras by maintaining a balance in our emotional and mental activities, physical diet, and exercise as they are all related. Some chakras are not active enough and compensated by other over-active chakras. The ideal state is to keep them balanced.

Below you'll find the emotional hormones and their functions as well as examples of chakra imbalances and the health problems that can arise:

Emotional Hormones:

  • Serotonin - It is believed to help regulate mood and social behavior, appetite and digestion, sleep, memory, and sexual desire and function.
  • Dopamine - your nervous system uses it to send messages, plays a role in how we feel pleasure. It's a big part of our unique human ability to think and plan. It helps us strive, focus, and find things interesting.
  • Cortisol - can help control blood sugar levels, regulate metabolism, help reduce inflammation, and assist with memory formulation.
  • Noradrenaline - is similar to adrenaline. It is used to treat life-threatening low blood pressure (hypotension) that can occur with certain medical conditions or surgical procedures.
  • Oxytocin - is a hormone that acts on organs in the body (including the breast and uterus) and as a chemical messenger in the brain, controlling key aspects of the reproductive system, including childbirth and lactation, and aspects of human behaviour.
  • GABA - calms you down by inhibiting the effects of Glutamate, an excitatory neurotransmitter.

Chakra Imbalances:


-Adrenal cortex glands

-It is the centre of physical energy, grounding and self-preservation.

-Governs the back, feet, hips, spine and legs


-Governs the sexual organs, Ovaries / Testicles, bladder, bowel and lower intestine

-This Chakra is about feeling and sexuality. When it is open, your feelings flow freely and are expressed without you being over emotional.


-Diabetes, Digestive / Adrenal organ illness, Hypoglycaemia, issues are – power and control.

-Governs the stomach, upper intestines, upper back and upper spine.


-Associated with the Circulatory System and Thymus Gland. It is the centre of Compassion, Love, Group Consciousness and Spirituality.

-Governs the heart, lungs, blood and circulation.

As the Heart Chakra is about Love, kindness and affection when it is open, you are compassionate and friendly, you work at harmonious relationships.


-Is associated with the Respiratory System/Thyroid Gland. It is the centre for sound, communication, speech, writing and thought expression.

-Governs the throat, thyroid, mouth, teeth, tongue and jaw.

This Chakra is about self-expression and talking. When it is open, you have no problems expressing yourself and you might be doing so in a creative way.

Third Eye

-Is associated with the Autonomic Nervous System/Pituitary Gland. It is the centre of psychic power, spirit energies, higher intuition and light.

-Governs the pituitary gland, pineal gland, skull, eyes, brain, nervous system and the senses.


-Is associated with the central nervous system/Pineal gland. It is the centre of enlightenment, dynamic thought, truth and oneness.

-Governs the top of the spinal cord, brain stem, pain centre and nerves.

See source link: